• Stacey Abrams and the Fight to Vote

Stacey Abrams and the Fight to Vote

A powerful picture book biography of Stacey Abrams, politician, voters’ rights activist, and Nobel Peace Prize nominee, that shows how Abrams’s fight for voters’ rights was inspired by luminaries before her, such as Sojourner Truth and Fannie Lou Hamer. Brilliant artwork from Laura Freeman, Coretta Scott King Honoree for Hidden Figures, brings Stacey’s journey to life. Perfect for fans of Kamala Harris: Rooted In Justice by Nikki Grimes and I Dissent by Debbie Levy.

Read about Stacey Abrams, politician and Nobel Peace Prize nominee, in this poetic picture book that follows Abrams’s fight for voters’ rights, narrated by Sojourner Truth, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Septima Poinsette Clark, and Fannie Lou Hamer.

“Sometimes she would light the way. Sometimes her way would be lit by others…”

Stacey Abrams was always destined for big things because she always imagined more. Now she protects the least powerful, works toward making voting fair and easy, and demands better for Georgia and every other state in this nation. Stacey Abrams’s determination, perseverance, and courage will inspire younger generations to make meaningful change in the world.

Regular price

Check out our shop on bookshop.org to order and still support us ♥

discover more in this category •

Stay Informed. We're building a community committed to celebrating Black authors + artisans. Subscribe to keep up with all things Kindred Stories.