Fort Bend ISD Bookapalooza 2024 (High School)

We hope you are excited for the 3rd Annual Bookapalooza, which takes place April 13 at Dulles Middle School! All authors will be available on site to get your books signed and personalized. Be sure to register here!

Availability

Price

$
$
  • Bookapalooza 2024: Bunt!: Striking Out on Financial Aid

    by Ngozi Ukazu & Mad Rupert

    $17.99

    Molly Bauer's first year of college is not the picture-perfect piece of art she'd always envisioned. On day one at PICA, Molly discovers that―through some horrible twist of fate―her full-ride scholarship has vanished! But the ancient texts (PICA's dusty financial aid documents) reveal a loophole. If Molly and 9 other art students win a single game of softball, they'll receive a massive athletic scholarship. Can Molly's crew of ragtag artists succeed in softball without dropping the ball? The author of the New York Times best-selling Check, Please series, Ngozi Ukazu, returns with debut artist Madeline Rupert to bring an energetic young adult story about authenticity, old vs. new, and college failure. It also poses the question: “Is art school worth it?”

  • Bookapalooza 2024: House of Marionne

    by J. Elle

    $19.99

    From New York Times bestselling author J. Elle comes a modern-day YA romantic fantasy series opener about a glamorous magical world of social elites, forbidden love, and a dark magic that could destroy it all.

    BURY YOUR SECRET OR DIE FOR IT.

    17 year-old Quell has lived her entire life on the run. She and her mother have fled from city to city, in order to hide the deadly magic that flows through Quell’s veins. 

    Until someone discovers her dark secret.

    To hide from the assassin hunting her, and keep her mother out of harm’s way, Quell reluctantly inducts into a debutante society of magical social elites called the Order that she never knew existed. If she can pass their three rites of membership, mastering their proper form of magic, she’ll be able to secretly bury her forbidden magic forever. 

    If caught, she will be killed.

    But becoming the perfect debutante is a lot harder than Quell imagined, especially when there’s more than tutoring happening with Jordan, her brooding mentor and— assassin in training. 

    When Quell uncovers the deadly lengths the Order will go to defend its wealth and power, she’s forced to choose: embrace the dark magic she’s been running from her entire life or risk losing everything, and everyone, she’s grown to love.

    Still, she fears the most formidable monster she’ll have to face is the one inside.

    Brimming with ballgowns and betrayal, magic and mystery, decadence and darkness, House of Marionne is perfect for readers who crave morally gray characters, irresistible romance, dark academia, and a deeply intoxicating and original world.

  • Bookapalooza 2024: It Happened on Saturday
    $19.99
    After thirteen-year-old Julia nearly becomes a victim of human trafficking, she must find the courage to speak up about her experience or else her friend could end up becoming a victim too.

    Thirteen-year-old Julia would much rather work with horses at the rescue barn than worry about things like dating and makeup. But when her BFF meets a boy at camp, Julia’s determined not to get left behind. After a makeover from her older sister, she posts a picture of herself online and gets a comment from Tyler—a seemingly nice kid who lives across town. As they DM more and more, Julia’s sure that Tyler understands her in a way her family never has. Even better, their relationship earns her tons of attention at school. Then Julia finds out Tyler's true plan, and her world is turned upside down. She fiercely guards her secret, but could her silence allow her friends to fall into the same trap?
  • Bookapalooza 2024: Out of Body

    by Nia Davenport

    $19.99

    A high-stakes, propulsive young adult thriller with a body-swap twist thoughtfully explores themes of friendship and identity, perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson.

    Seventeen-year-old Megan has been jumping from friend group to friend group in her Atlanta-area suburb, trying on identities like outfits. Nothing ever felt right. Until she meets LC, the adventurous, charismatic girl who appeared at Megan’s favorite coffee shop like magic. They’ve been inseparable ever since, and Megan feels like she’s coming into who she’s really meant to be: someone like LC.

    But LC has secrets—dangerous ones. On the night of their friendiversary, LC offers Megan a drug that makes Megan pass out at a party. When she awakens, she realizes that she and LC have swapped bodies and even worse . . . LC is already at Megan’s house, pretending to be Megan.

    Now Megan has to fight against the horror of being trapped in someone else’s body while trying to figure out how to get her life back. The only way to do that is to own what makes Megan Megan . . . or die trying.

  • Bookapalooza 2024: What She Missed

    by Liara Tamani

    $19.99

    Sixteen-year-old Ebony Jones is devastated when her family moves from Houston to her grandmother’s house in the country. There’s absolutely nothing for Ebony in Alula Lake, Texas. So she thinks.

    Award-winning author Liara Tamani’s What She Missed is a rich and emotional novel that celebrates change, nature, friendship, growing up, and love, for readers of Sarah Dessen’s The Rest of the Story and Elizabeth Acevedo’s Clap When You Land

    When Ebony and her parents move from Houston, Texas, to her grandmother’s house in a small lake town, Ebony is sure her life is doomed. And to make matters worse, the ghost of Ebony’s beloved grandmother—a strong swimmer who tragically drowned in the lake—is everywhere. Alula Lake does offer one perk: reconnecting Ebony with her childhood friend, Jalen.

    But as Ebony settles into life, she finds herself drifting away from Jalen and gravitating to his older sister, Lena. Lena is chaotic, disorderly, and rebellious, yet she offers a reprieve for the anger and sadness Ebony feels about losing so much.

    An ode to nature, art, friendship, history, family, and love, this lyrical coming-of-age story explores one girl’s summer of self-discovery as she reimagines the world and her place in it. What She Missed is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Nina LaCour, and Nicola Yoon.

  • Bookapalooza 2024: Rain Rising

    by Courtne Comrie

    $16.99

    This dazzling debut middle grade novel in verse is a riveting journey toward self-acceptance for fans of Genesis Begins Again. Thirteen-year-old Rain must overcome sadness after her all-star brother is badly beaten up at a white frat party. Eventually, Rain finds hope again and helps her family heal. 

    I feel like Rain.

    Rain rising through the unexpected.

    Gentle and a force like Mom says.

    I feel like me.

    Rain is keeping a big secret from everyone around her: She's sad. All the time.

    Xander, her older brother, is an all-star student athlete and a superhero to Rain since their dad is not around. But even he can’t help Rain with her dark thoughts. Rain hates the way she looks, and she feels inferior to her best friend, Nara, who’s skinny and got more money, lighter skin, and hair that curls.

    When Xander is the victim of a hate crime, things take a turn for the worse. Xander stops speaking to everyone, including Rain, whose dark thoughts turn into action.

    Rain’s secret battle puts her life on the line. But when her favorite teacher invites her to an after-school circle group, Rain finds friends and the courage to help herself and her family heal. Like the rain, she is both gentle and a force, and though she faces many storms in her life, she finds the strength to rise again. 

Stay Informed. We're building a community committed to celebrating Black authors + artisans. Subscribe to keep up with all things Kindred Stories.