arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash

Shopping Cart


Someone Had to Do It: A Novel by Amber and Danielle Brown
Regular price
$16.99

Someone Had to Do It: A Novel by Amber and Danielle Brown


Unit price per

A fast-paced suspense novel about a young Black woman whose internship experience at the fashion house of her dreams is cut short after overhearing the owner's daughter plotting to kill him; when he actually turns up dead, she's framed for his murder and must race to seek justice for herself before it's too late, for fans of THE OTHER BLACK GIRL, SUCH A FUN AGE, and WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING.

"A dark and riveting page-turner with an intelligent twist." —Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man

SOMEONE HAD TO MAKE HIM PAY. SOMEONE HAD TO TAKE HER DOWN.

Brandi Maxwell is living the dream as an intern at prestigious New York fashion house Simon Van Doren. Except “living the dream” looks more like scrubbing puke from couture dresses worn by hard-partying models and putting up with microaggressions from her white colleagues. Still, she can’t help but fangirl over Simon’s it-girl daughter, Taylor. Until one night, at a glamorous Van Doren party, when Brandi overhears something she shouldn’t have, and her fate becomes dangerously intertwined Taylor’s.
 
Model and influencer Taylor Van Doren has everything…and is this close to losing it all. Her fashion mogul father will donate her inheritance to charity if she fails her next drug test, and he’s about to marry someone nearly as young as Taylor, further threatening her stake in the family fortune. But Taylor deserves the money that’s rightfully hers. And she’ll go to any lengths to get it, even if that means sacrificing her famous father in the process.
 
All she needs is the perfect person to take the fall…