• Okra Stew: A Gullah Geechee Family Celebration

Okra Stew: A Gullah Geechee Family Celebration

Featuring stunning mixed-media collage artwork, this exuberant picture book celebrates a special day of cooking shared between a boy and his father, a family feast, and the beautiful traditions of the Gullah Geechee people—perfect for fans of Fry BreadThank You, Omu!, and My Papi Has a Motorcycle.

Papa has something special planned for tonight’s family dinnerand Bobo can’t wait! Eager to learn how to make okra stew like his ancestors, Bobo helps Papa pick and chop vegetables from the garden, catch shrimp from the creek, rain down rice in the pot, simmer the stew, and even make a tasty side of cornbreadall culminating in a mouthwatering feast enjoyed by three generations of family members.

Inspired by Natalie Daise's own Gullah Geechee culture, this rhythmic, joyous debut picture bookfrom the co-creator of the hit '90s Nickelodeon show Gullah Gullah Islandis a celebration of Gullah Geechee traditions and highlights a special day shared between father and son as they cook a central cultural dish. Backmatter includes a detailed author’s note about Gullah culture and Natalie's own okra stew recipe.

Regular price

Check out our shop on bookshop.org to order and still support us ♥

discover more in this category •

Stay Informed. We're building a community committed to celebrating Black authors + artisans. Subscribe to keep up with all things Kindred Stories.